Uncharted: the Nathan Drake Collection, how the guns have driven me insane.

aaaa unchart

Image courtesy of Sony Computer Entertainment

PLAYSTATION’S current poster boy is Nathan Drake, from their A-class developer, Naughty Dog.

His adventures have been hailed as some of the greatest outings on a disc that you can throw money at.
For the most part I have followed his rise from the humble beginnings on a remote pirate island up to his escape from the djinn.

Through all of this I have never found myself able to agree with the praises given to his title, though I have also been un-able to put down the controller.

I play Uncharted in the same way you would watch soaps with the mother as a child.
In a mild state of sub-consciousness you endure it to the end.
This is what I do with Uncharted, endure.

Yes, the games look fantastic, I can’t ignore that.
The opening of Among Thieves in a dangling train is one of the most beautifully executed scenes there is. It throws you straight into the action without creating an imbalance of difficulty while a snow dusted mountain range watches your escape.
There are many of these moments spread through the series and I suppose they are what drag me through the campaigns.

I trudge through the combat and heavily clichéd (though exceptionally well acted) cut-scenes, looking for my next Indiana-Jones boulder roll.

Yet, when I hit a heavily combat reliant section I find myself tempted to just drop the controller and walk away. There is nothing satisfying about fighting, whatsoever.

The guns sound like they were made in my uncle’s shed, the recoil launches the cross-hairs into orbit, bullets fly slower than pigeons and they have the impact of a moth hitting a wind-shield.

It is more effective to run in for some shakily scripted melee, not because it’s any more satisfying, but because flapping Nathan’s arms around kills people quicker than say shooting them in the face.

Convinced that I must have missed something in my initial PS3 play-throughs I eagerly dived into the new Nathan Drake Collection in an attempt to convince myself that these games are as superb as everyone says they are.

I was so disappointed when I picked up the first handgun and heard that sub-par audio file that has plagued reloading in the series since its conception.

And yet…

I’m still going to complete all three.

I’m probably going for the platinum.

Why?

Because in the simplest way, they’re enjoyable without being ground breaking.

They maintain just a high enough quality to keep a steady level of interest with puzzles and near-non-existent loading screens.

To this I take my hat-off to Naughty Dog, no one else can make me play a game I abhor twice.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

